Book Deals for August 7th and Kindle First for August

I am now signed up for three different emails a day for book deals. I feel like I am going into dangerous waters here. Hopefully I will not be enticed by too many books per day. Although I always live to regret the books I do not buy when they are on sale. I guess we shall see what this journey holds! At least I can shift through these for everyone and just give you the books I think are worth it.

For today:

  • Island Beneath the Sea
    • I already purchased this book previously but thought I should share here! This book falls right into my criteria of books to read. Really looking forward to seeing what this author will bring to the discussion on the slave trade in the New World.
  • Neverwhere
    • This was on Book Riot’s book deals today. I am personally not purchasing this book because I am no longer aboard the fantasy train. But this author is great, although I realize I have never actually read any of his books!
  • The Heart Echoes
    • This is the book I chose for August’s Kindle First selection. It has become harder and harder to make the decisions with the Kindle Firsts, mainly because the books leave to be desired. I chose this one mainly because it is contemporary fiction and was translated from Swedish. We shall see what it brings!

 

“Despite the enormous quantity of books, how few people read! And if one reads profitably, one would realize how much stupid stuff the vulgar herd is content to swallow every day.”
― Voltaire

Leave a Reply

