Forever, Now

I have always found the notion of forever very silly, particularly in romantic relationships. Mainly because there is no such thing as forever, and most of our relationships won’t even last our whole lives. Nevertheless, I understand why people feel the need to say it. In the moment that you’re with your person and you feel this immense love for them, you feel the need to express this sentiment that you want this to last forever. I find myself in this predicament often now. However, I feel there’s a certain falsehood by saying “I will love you forever” or “I want to be with you forever”. Because this may not end up being true two days from now, 6 months from now or 3 years from now. But in the moment I do mean it. So in order to stay true to what you are trying to say in the moment, while also staying true to your future self, we should say “forever, now”. 

I love you forever, now. I’m yours forever,  now. I want to be yours forever, now. 

Leave a Reply

