Memory of Loss Skin

This is a book that I definitely struggled to get through but when I was done I was glad to have read it. I don’t know if I would recommend this book to everyone for it is a very strange book. The plot itself is rather random,  but the character development is amazing.

Besides the character development, the book’s main theme is very out of the ordinary and makes you consider reconceptualizing your perception of sex offenders. That’s a strong statement, I know, but take a moment to think on this.

A lot of the current talk about ending mass incarceration has focused on giving more leeway to non-violent offenders. This makes sense, for it is appealing to the general public and is more politically correct. However, ostracizing violent offenders doesn’t necessarily solve the problem and promotes the idea that prison is not for rehabilitation but purely for punishment.

This book dives into this very idea by humanizing sex offenders, which is itself a feat. Like many, I do not have any warm feelings for sex offenders, particularly as a woman and given the current judicial system and cultural climate that leaves rapists unpunished. However, this book challenged my conceptions of these ideas and definitely has me seeing things less in black and white, and more on a spectrum of grey.

I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a different sort of read and is interested in having their views challenged on a seemingly straight forward topic.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

